Tags

, , ,

Engineering Area

So to celebrate my 34th birthday, I quit my job. After 8 years it was finally time to move on. I survived 2 rounds of layoffs and 2 acquisitions at Pulse Energy / EnerNOC / Yardi and am currently the longest serving employee in the Vancouver office. But I only have 2 weeks left of work.

In April, I get to take everything I’ve learnt at Pulse (storing time-series data, modelling energy, setting up monitoring tools, deploying to AWS, plus so much more) and do it all again at a new startup called Clir Renewables. The company is very young and doesn’t have a public website yet, but they’re building software to optimize wind farms. I’m looking forward to the challenge.

I will miss my co-workers at Yardi. The Vancouver office is full of talented and interesting people. But the organization as a whole does the excite me. There isn’t a push for innovation and I had stopped learning new things. My job was largely maintaining the services I had built over the past 8 years and cleaning up junk utility data. It was easy work and the pay was ok, but it didn’t motivate me to go to work everyday.

Clir Renewables is going to be a big change. As an early stage startup, they’re trying to make good infrastructure decisions and build a solid platform but are also trying to crank out features to get early sales. I’ve only seen some of the code but they definitely accrued tech debt already. I’m looking forward to getting in there and helping clean things up.

I was only casualy looking for a new job when the Clir opportunity appeared, but I was really surprised by how hot the Vancouver software job market it right now. It seems like everyone is hiring and the big names (Amazon, SAP, Salesforce, Visier) are having bidding wars to attract talent. The salaries being offered are way higher than I expected and even the startup companies are coming close to matching them. I think the low Canadian dollar is finally factoring into local salaries and US based companies are willing to pay more. It’s a good time to be a software developer.

(And I leave you with some music from Shred Kelly. Emily took me to see them on my birthday. They put on a good show.)

