Tags

, , , , , ,

UBC Trail Run
I ran for 30 km on Sunday, the farthest I’ve ever run. We went out to UBC, through the trails in Pacific Spirit Park, and back. It took 3 hours. I’ve never run that long before, so I had to figure out what to eat. I wanted something with real food in it, not chemicals, so I made my own homemade power gel. I adapted it from recipes and ideas in the Thrive Diet, combining lots of dates, coconut oil, dulse (seaweed), lemon juice, lemon zest, 1/4 banana, and a chunk of papaya. It looked disgusting, especially when I put it in a ziplock bag, but it tasted good and kept me going for 3 hours. I’ll have to get some GoToobs to pack it into next time so people don’t think I’m crazy.

My energy levels felt good, but my legs were hurting, especially after 20 km. I almost stopped running because my right hip flexor was so sore around km 25. But I mixed in some walking and shortened my stride and that helped enough that I was able to finish. I’m going to start doing exercises to strengthen the hip muscles.

The workouts on Tuesday and Wednesday were in monsoon-like conditions. I think the rain did a number on my phone. It’s been twitchy for a while, but after the rain it was really having problems. I sent it in for repairs, so we’ll see if the rain voids my warranty or not.

Day Distance (km) Workout Time Pace /km
Sunday 30.0 Long 3:01:27 6:02 map
Monday Yoga
Tuesday 12.0 Hills 1:00:00 5:33 map
Wednesday 10.0 Tempo 0:47:30 4:45 map
Thursday Strength
Friday Off
Saturday 5.5 Slow 0:33:06 6:02 map
Running Total 57.5 5:22:03 5:36

10 weeks done, only 7 more until race day. Let’s hope the weather improves. Last weeks results are here.

