Tags

, ,

Sarah and Yuxi Cook up a StormI really should have written about this earlier when last weekend was fresher in my mind. Oh well, better late than never. Last weekend I took a bus down to Seattle to hang with the dozens of Waterloo friends that are now living down there.

<lj-cut text="Seattle Trip Details"The bus was really convenient and pretty cheap. $40 return with my student card (I have to use it while I can, it expires in 3 weeks) on Quick Coach. Between Quick and Amtrak there’s 10 buses running a day. Now, I have excuses not to visit again. Especially, after I had such a great time last weekend.

Friday night I spent the evening at Lorrissa’s drinking wine and talking with Lorrissa, Erin, Graeme (who was gracious enough to pick me up and drive me down to Bellevue), Greg, and Sarah. It was a great night and reminded me of all the countless late nights spent chatting in Waterloo. Most of the conversation centred around relationships, with some talk of work and the Microsoft bubble, university reminiscing, and the differences between Canada and the US.

Saturday was breakfast at IHOP, an American institution. It was the first time I’ve been without being hung-over. It didn’t make the food any better, just typical, greasy, diner fare.

Saturday night was a potluck at Greg’s. It was loads of fun. The highlights being the great food (they even went out of there way to ensure there was some veggie options – thanks!), the uber-nerdy Microsoft employees, worshipping Greg’s humongous 50 inch LCD tv (I guess size does matter), and playing Mafia. I love Mafia. What a great game – so much intrigue, lying, and strategy. I can’t wait to play it again. I’m thinking at Christmas there should be enough people out at the farm to get a good game going.

StunnedSunday was spent chilling with Sarah, Greg, and Yuxi in Seattle before jumping back on a bus to Vancouver. Being in Vancouver for the weekend made me think of how different life would have been had I took the job at Microsoft. On one hand, I’d have more friends to hang out with – friends who through those party I love to go to, and with lots of great toys and money to blow on ridiculously pimped out cars and ginormous tvs. On the other hand, I’d be living in Bellevue – the epitome of bad urban planning that centers on cars not people. I couldn’t believe how spread out the city is there. You can’t get anywhere without driving, which explains why everyone I know at Microsoft has recently purchased a new car. Even in Seattle, a big urban centre, people still drive everywhere. I had to walk 4 blocks through downtown from Sarah’s to the bus stop, and I saw like 2 other people. The streets were just deserted. I’ve gotten used to Vancouver, where there are constantly people walking everywhere downtown.

I have to say I’m happy I’m in Vancouver. The city is so much cooler, I heard that the team I would have been working at Microsoft is flopping, and I wouldn’t have met Emily in Seattle.

