Tags

Although I’m finished working at Microsoft in 3 weeks, I decided to join the intern dodgeball team. Ever since Murderball in high school, I can’t get enough dodgeball. It’s just the perfect sport for me – a blend of running and baseball.

Yesterday, our team got together to watch Dodgeball, the movie. It was a crappy movie, but it got me in the mood for our first game.

Today we played our first game. The FireBalls (that’s us) vs. the Dodgy Degenerates (a bunch of Microsoft employees from Windows PE).

We have an awesome team. A good mix of Mexicans, Americans, a Venezuelan, an Ausie, and me the lone Canadian. Some baseball experience, and a lot of youthful energy and testerone. Although Bede (our Aussie friend) had never played before, and most people of our team hadn’t played since elementary, we came out flying. Unfortunately, after the first two volleys of attacks, half of our team was on the bench, after getting pegged or having their balls caught (that sounds wrong). But my murderball training kicked in, and I registered the first four kills for our team, and caught a ball or two to bring some of our players back on. Once we settled down, we systematically picked off their players one by one, and won the first match.

The second match was more of the same. I was having a blast pegging people off. At one point I was throwing so hard, that people trying to block my shots with their ball, were having the balls ripped out of their hands (Ha Ha – I said balls). I’m sure my arm will be really sore tomorrow.

I just realized how hard it is to describe a dodgeball game, without it sounding terribly sexual.

Anyway, Nodira managed to get a few shots with my camera. Unfortunately, it was still on night mode from my biking shots last night, so the pictures look a bit blury.

Next week: FireBalls vs. Fish in a Barrel (my mentor’s team). I’ll try to get some more pictures.


The initial rush
The initial rush
The windup
The windup
The toss
The toss
They're out
They’re out

