Tags

,

Well I wasn’t going to start my journal until I started my trip to the States, but I had an amusing incident today. But to fully appreciate it I’m going to have to start my story on December 9 when I had a meeting at school for all students heading to the United States for work terms.

During the meeting the co-op guy started talking about crossing the border and the forms we needed to have if we wanted to avoid a full-body search. Anyway, I hadn’t received any of those forms from Microsoft yet, so I asked indiglo_i (who is also working at Microsoft in January) if he had received his visa forms yet. Sure enough he received his two weeks prior. Agitated, I sent an email to my contact at Microsoft who put my in contact with a lady in the legal department. Anyway, I got everything straightened out and the forms were sent to me by FedEx.

*fast forward 10 days later – today*
Well the FedEx package finally arrived today. I opened it up to see how many forms I had to fill out and to check if any of them required me to promptly send some forms back. Anyway, I started reading the cover letter and it kept referring to the American Consulate in Mexico City. Confused, I flipped through the other papers and noticed they were all filled out for a Microsoft Intern from Mexico City named Fernando. I can only assume Fernando is one confused hombre in Mexico right now trying to figure out why all his forms refer to Christopher of Winnipeg, Canada. I wonder if he knows where Winnipeg is?

So, now I have to make a trip down to FedEx to overnight the package back to Microsoft (my legal contact was very sorry about the mistake). Hopefully I get my real forms soon. I’m not worried yet, as I don’t leave for a few weeks. But I would like to get everything settled. I still don’t have a plane ticket booked. I’ve found a two bedroom condo to share with indiglo_i, but we still haven’t got a finalized contract back from the owner yet. So there are still a few things left to fix up before I leave.

Back to the visa mix up. I’m kind of happy to find out that there will be Mexican interns working at Microsoft. I’ve been told there won’t be many (if any) Americans because their college system is such that most interns work in the summer, so I thought it would be all Canadians. From what I was told most MS interns will be from Canada – UBC, Simon Fraser, Waterloo, and Sherbrooke I think. I’ll have to make a point of meeting Fernando when I start work. I wonder what department he’ll be in. Maybe this will be the odd beginning of a new friendship.

