Good Bye 2008

Since moving to Vancouver in the summer of 2006, I’ve managed to settle in comfortably. The stability was a welcome reprieve after the transient lifestyle I had in University. However, this year I decided to make a few positive changes and spice things up a bit. In September I left Business Objects and started a new job at a start-up company and in December Emily and I moved in together into a new apartment. I survived the year without any major injuries and only a few rolled ankles (another positive change from previous years).

After just over 2 years at Business Objects, I decided to move on to new challenges working at a rapidly growing startup company called Small Energy Group. I’m really happy with my new job. Their is a real buzz at the company and the team I work with is awesome. We’re developing energy monitoring software that helps large buildings reduce energy usage. It’s great working for an environmentally friendly company that is making a positive impact in the world. The team I work with is full of some of the brightest developers I have ever worked with, and I’m being challenged technically for the first time since University.

Emily and I are now settled into our little apartment near Main and Broadway in Vancouver. We’ve made a nice little home for ourselves. Emily provided most of the art for the walls, and I provided most of the furniture. I lasted about a week in our new home before I went out and bought an XBox 360 (Dan owned the one in our old apartment). The location is awesome, in a neighbourhood with lots of vegetarian restaurants and great public transit options.

I’m still enjoying living in Vancouver. Rent is painfully expensive and the city is having a tough time handling all the snow we’ve had lately, but I can get by without owning a car, the mountains and the beach are close, and the city is environmentally minded. I miss my family in Winnipeg, but Vancouver is a great place to be right now. I was fortunate enough to make it back to Winnipeg twice this year to spend time with the family – at Christmas I was lucky to get a flight from Vancouver to Winnipeg and in April I travelled home for a big surprise milestone birthday party for my mother.

It was a great year for travelling. The biggest trip was in June, when Ben and I had our encore European Adventure backpacking across Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and Denmark. There was also a lot of weekend adventures throughout the year- snowboarding at Big White, surfing in Tofino, snowshoeing at Elfin Lakes, a romantic getaway to Harrison Hot Springs, cycling between wineries in the Okanagan, camping in Garibaldi Provincial Park, and an amazing car-free biking trip to Gabriola Island. My weekdays were also really busy with Ultimate Frisbee twice a week, plus a Spanish class Emily and I took together.

I hope everyone has a great 2009 – full of change, adventure, and good health.

Summit Salutations  Plumber's Convention  Canada Day at Kits Beach  Vigeland Sculpture Park  Blue Lagoon Spa  Mountains in the Clouds
My 2008 photo map

About canadianveggie

I enjoy exploring the great outdoors, eating good vegan food, cycling around Vancouver, solving problems with software, learning about urban planning, and discussing politics.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

